Florey Building: The Last Building of “The Red Trilogy”
This impressive building known as the Queen’s College Florey building represents the third and last building of “The Red Trilogy”, the other two buildings of the trilogy being the Leicester Engineering Faculty building and the Cambridge History Faculty building. All three of Stirling’s university buildings were designed in the decade between 1958 and 1968.
The design of the building was achieved by James Stirling, well known for its approach in modern architecture. The goal of this project was to achieve an iconic, modern building to boost the college’s reputation and enrollment. The structure of the building is a concrete frame with exposed, A-frame “feet” at the ground level and the facade is almost entirely made with terra cotta tiles.
The building has a U-shape and 74 dormitories over four levels, with a top level of double-height gallery rooms for graduates and a ground level equipped with a dining hall and other general rooms, and features a great glazing system that faces North and overlooks the River Cherwell. Outside, it’s all about glass and a red terra cotta facade, a great example of architecture, Stirling being considered as ‘the best architect of his generation’ even though had some issues regarding the deadline of the construction.